• Views: in the last
  • 33Week
  • 17Month
  • 148Total

  • US HR1870
  • Police Training and Independent Review Act of 2017
In Committee
Crossed OverPassedSignedDead/Failed/Vetoed
115th Congress
Police Training and Independent Review Act of 2017 This bill requires a state that receives funding under the Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant (JAG) program to train law enforcement officers on diversity and sensitivity. The Department of Justice (DOJ) may reduce by up to 20% the JAG allocation of a state that fails to comply. Additionally, the bill requires a state or local government that receives JAG funding to have in effect a law requiring the appointment of an independent prosecutor to investigate and prosecute an offense involving the use of deadly force by a law enforcement officer that results in a death or injury. DOJ must reduce by 20% the JAG allocation of a state or local government that fails to comply.
Crime and law enforcement, Criminal investigation, prosecution, interrogation, Disability and health-based discrimination, Disability and paralysis, Government employee pay, benefits, personnel management, Law enforcement administration and funding, Law enforcement officers, Mental health, Racial and ethnic relations
Steve Cohen (D)*, Alma Adams (D), Nanette Barragan (D), Karen Bass (D), Joyce Beatty (D), Don Beyer Jr. (D), Earl Blumenauer (D), Bob Brady (D), Anthony Brown (D), G.K. Butterfield Jr. (D), Mike Capuano (D), Andre Carson (D), Kathy Castor (D), Judy Chu (D), David Cicilline (D), Katherine Clark (D), Yvette Clarke (D), Lacy Clay Jr. (D), Emanuel Cleaver II (D), Jim Clyburn (D), John Conyers Jr. (D), Elijah Cummings (D), Danny Davis (D), Rosa DeLauro (D), Mark DeSaulnier (D), Debbie Dingell (D), Keith Ellison (DFL), Eliot Engel (D), Anna Eshoo (D), Adriano Espaillat (D), Dwight Evans (D), Bill Foster (D), Marcia Fudge (D), Ruben Gallego (D), Al Green (D), Raul Grijalva (D), Luis Gutierrez (D), Alcee Hastings (D), Sheila Jackson Lee (D), Pramila Jayapal (D), Hakeem Jeffries (D), Eddie Johnson (D), Hank Johnson Jr. (D), Marcy Kaptur (D), Robin Kelly (D), Ro Khanna (D), Dan Kildee (D), Jim Langevin (D), Brenda Lawrence (D), Barbara Lee (D), John Lewis (D), Ted Lieu (D), Zoe Lofgren (D), Alan Lowenthal (D), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D), Betty McCollum (DFL), Jim McGovern (D), Jerry McNerney (D), Gregory Meeks (D), Grace Meng (D), Gwen Moore (D), Jerry Nadler (D), Donald Norcross (D), Eleanor Norton (D), Beto O'Rourke (D), Frank Pallone Jr. (D), Bill Pascrell Jr. (D), Donald Payne Jr. (D), Chellie Pingree (D), Mark Pocan (D), Jared Polis (D), Mike Quigley (D), Jamie Raskin (D), Cedric Richmond (D), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D), Bobby Rush (D), Tim Ryan (D), Linda Sanchez (D), Jan Schakowsky (D), Adam Schiff (D), Bobby Scott (D), David Scott (D), Jose Serrano (D), Terri Sewell (D), Albio Sires (D), Louise Slaughter (D), Adam Smith (D), Darren Soto (D), Jackie Speier (D), Mark Takano (D), Bennie Thompson (D), Paul Tonko (D), Marc Veasey (D), Nydia Velazquez (D), Maxine Waters (D), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D), Freddi Wilson (D), John Yarmuth (D)
Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, And Investigations.  (on 4/4/2017)
Date Chamber Action Description
4/4/2017 H Referred to the Subcommittee on Crime, Terrorism, Homeland Security, And Investigations.
4/4/2017 H Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
4/4/2017 H Sponsor introductory remarks on measure. (CR E445)
4/4/2017 H Introduced in House
Date Motion Yea Nay Other
None specified