• Views: in the last
  • 53Week
  • 22Month
  • 199Total

  • US HR2978
  • Voting Rights Advancement Act of 2017
In Committee
Crossed OverPassedSignedDead/Failed/Vetoed
115th Congress
Voting Rights Advancement Act of 2017 This bill amends the Voting Rights Act of 1965 to allow a representative official of an Indian tribe, with authorization from the governing body of the tribe, to request one or more polling places to be located on tribal lands. The state or political subdivision shall provide each requested polling place at no expense to the Indian tribe if certain criteria are met. A federal court shall retain jurisdiction to enforce constitutional voting guarantees, but also certain violations of the Act as well as of any federal prohibition against discrimination on the basis of race, color, or membership in a language minority group, for an appropriate period to prevent commencement of new devices to deny or abridge the right to vote. Any state (and all of its political subdivisions) shall be subject to certain requirements for a 10-year period if: 15 or more voting rights violations occurred there during the previous 25 years; or 10 or more violations occurred during the previous 25 years, at least one of which was committed by the state itself (as opposed to a political subdivision within it). A state or political subdivision that obtains a declaratory judgment that it has not used a device to deny or abridge the right to vote shall be exempt from such requirements unlessas specified. This bill prescribes transparency requirements regarding any changes to specified matters. Department of Justice authority to assign observers receives new extensions. Courts shall grant preliminary injunctive relief if a complainant raises a serious question whether the challenged covered practice violates the Act or the Constitution and, on balance, the hardship imposed upon the defendant by the relief will be less than the hardship on the plaintiff if the relief were not granted.
Civil actions and liability, Federal-Indian relations, Government operations and politics, Jurisdiction and venue, Racial and ethnic relations, State and local government operations, Voting rights
Terri Sewell (D)*, Alma Adams (D), Pete Aguilar (D), Nanette Barragan (D), Karen Bass (D), Joyce Beatty (D), Ami Bera (D), Don Beyer Jr. (D), Sanford Bishop Jr. (D), Earl Blumenauer (D), Suzanne Bonamici (D), Brendan Boyle (D), Bob Brady (D), Anthony Brown (D), Julia Brownley (D), Cheri Bustos (D), G.K. Butterfield Jr. (D), Mike Capuano (D), Salud Carbajal (D), Tony Cardenas (D), Andre Carson (D), Matt Cartwright (D), Kathy Castor (D), Joaquin Castro (D), Judy Chu (D), David Cicilline (D), Katherine Clark (D), Yvette Clarke (D), Lacy Clay Jr. (D), Jim Clyburn (D), Steve Cohen (D), Gerry Connolly (D), John Conyers Jr. (D), Jim Cooper (D), Lou Correa (D), Jim Costa (D), Joe Courtney (D), Charlie Crist (D), Joe Crowley (D), Henry Cuellar (D), Elijah Cummings (D), Danny Davis (D), Susan Davis (D), Pete DeFazio (D), Diana DeGette (D), John Delaney (D), Rosa DeLauro (D), Suzan DelBene (D), Val Demings (D), Mark DeSaulnier (D), Ted Deutch (D), Debbie Dingell (D), Lloyd Doggett II (D), Mike Doyle Jr. (D), Keith Ellison (DFL), Eliot Engel (D), Anna Eshoo (D), Adriano Espaillat (D), Elizabeth Esty (D), Dwight Evans (D), Bill Foster (D), Lois Frankel (D), Marcia Fudge (D), Ruben Gallego (D), John Garamendi (D), Jimmy Gomez (D), Al Green (D), Gene Green (D), Raul Grijalva (D), Luis Gutierrez (D), Colleen Hanabusa (D), Alcee Hastings (D), Denny Heck (D), Brian Higgins (D), Jim Himes (D), Steny Hoyer (D), Jared Huffman (D), Sheila Jackson Lee (D), Pramila Jayapal (D), Hakeem Jeffries (D), Eddie Johnson (D), Hank Johnson Jr. (D), Marcy Kaptur (D), Bill Keating (D), Robin Kelly (D), Joe Kennedy III (D), Ro Khanna (D), Ruben Kihuen (D), Dan Kildee (D), Derek Kilmer (D), Ron Kind (D), Raja Krishnamoorthi (D), Jim Langevin (D), Rick Larsen (D), John Larson (D), Brenda Lawrence (D), Al Lawson Jr. (D), Barbara Lee (D), Sandy Levin (D), John Lewis (D), Ted Lieu (D), Dave Loebsack (D), Zoe Lofgren (D), Alan Lowenthal (D), Nita Lowey (D), Ben Ray Lujan Jr. (D), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D), Steve Lynch (D), Carolyn Maloney (D), Sean Maloney (D), Doris Matsui (D), Betty McCollum (DFL), Donald McEachin (D), Jim McGovern (D), Annie Kuster (D), Jerry McNerney (D), Gregory Meeks (D), Grace Meng (D), Gwen Moore (D), Seth Moulton (D), Stephanie Murphy (D), Jerry Nadler (D), Grace Napolitano (D), Richie Neal (D), Rick Nolan (DFL), Donald Norcross (D), Eleanor Norton (D), Tom O'Halleran (D), Beto O'Rourke (D), Frank Pallone Jr. (D), Jimmy Panetta (D), Bill Pascrell Jr. (D), Donald Payne Jr. (D), Nancy Pelosi (D), Ed Perlmutter (D), Scott Peters (D), Chellie Pingree (D), Stacey Plaskett (D), Mark Pocan (D), Jared Polis (D), David Price (D), Mike Quigley (D), Jamie Raskin (D), Kathleen Rice (D), Cedric Richmond (D), Lisa Blunt Rochester (D), Jacky Rosen (D), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D), Raul Ruiz (D), Dutch Ruppersberger III (D), Bobby Rush (D), Tim Ryan (D), Linda Sanchez (D), John Sarbanes (D), Jan Schakowsky (D), Adam Schiff (D), Brad Schneider (D), Kurt Schrader (D), Bobby Scott (D), David Scott (D), Jose Serrano (D), Carol Shea-Porter (D), Brad Sherman (D), Albio Sires (D), Louise Slaughter (D), Adam Smith (D), Darren Soto (D), Jackie Speier (D), Tom Suozzi (D), Eric Swalwell (D), Mark Takano (D), Bennie Thompson (D), Mike Thompson (D), Dina Titus (D), Paul Tonko (D), Norma Torres (D), Niki Tsongas (D), Paco Vargas (D), Marc Veasey (D), Filemon Vela (D), Nydia Velazquez (D), Pete Visclosky (D), Tim Walz (DFL), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D), Maxine Waters (D), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D), Peter Welch (D), Freddi Wilson (D), John Yarmuth (D)
Sponsor introductory remarks on measure. (CR E999-1000)  (on 7/17/2017)
Date Chamber Action Description
7/17/2017 H Sponsor introductory remarks on measure. (CR E999-1000)
7/10/2017 H Referred to the Subcommittee on the Constitution And Civil Justice.
6/21/2017 H Referred to the House Committee on the Judiciary.
6/21/2017 H Introduced in House
Date Motion Yea Nay Other
None specified